Courts & Law

34 Judges appointed by President Kenyatta sworn in

President Uhuru Kenyatta and chief Justice Martha Koome pose for a picture with the newly sworn in judges at State House Nairobi. Image/courtesy

The 34 judges appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta on Thursday were sworn in at statehouse Nairobi President Kenyatta on Friday 4th June 2021. The swearing in of the judges who were proposed by the Judicial service commission (JSC) 2 years ago were finally sworn into office amid controversy after president Kenyatta rejected the appointment of 6 other judges from the list submitted to him over what has been reffered to as “integrity questions”.

Judges George Odunga, Weldon Korir, Aggrey Muchelule, Evans Kiago, Judith Omange and Joel Ngugi were left out in a list published in a special issue of the Kenya Gazette on Thursday.

Questions were raised by Kenyans over the real reason behind the other six judges being left out,two of them were involved in the case that put brakes on the Building bridges initiative (BBI), Justice Ngugi and Justice Odunga.

But according to sources close to statehouse, the rejection of the appointment of those jusges have nothing to do with the BBI case but instead, the president has intelligence report over their involvement in corruption scandals and hence according to the sources, the president would have abdicated on his duties appointing somebody whose integrity is in question into office.

After the swearing in, the Chief justice Martha Koome defended the swearing in of the judges stating that they were appointed